Review: eos Shave Cream

The eos (“evolution of smooth”) brand is probably best known for its signature spherical lip balm products, but they make other stuff too, like lotions and shave cream, which I was recently enticed to buy when it was offered at a very low price during a drug store promotion.  (I actually bought two.)  This is the second non-shave-gel product I’ve tried on my legs…

Pros:  Smells nice.  Creamy. Can be used for “dry shaving”.  Somewhat moisturizing.

Cons:  Contains parabens. Gets diluted if you have too much water on your skin and doesn’t work very well.  Didn’t notice any more moisturizing than I get from my shave gel with built-in moisturizers.  Costs more than shave gel.  “Pump” container, which leads to some wasting of the product, since it gets stuck in there.

In Summary:  I’m not going to be buying shave cream/lotion to replace my shave gel.  If I had to regularly “dry” shave my legs, I might be tempted to keep this around.  However, all those “cons” I listed keep me from wanting to buy it again (especially the parabens, since my shave gel doesn’t contain parabens).  Since it only cost 99 cents, I’m fine with it, but I definitely would not pay more than I spend on my shave gel to keep using it.  I think it definitely falls into the “Not Bad, But Just Not for Me” category.

Rating:  2.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx $4

Available at:  drug stores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com

Leave a comment

Leave a comment