Review: BeautyFix Monthly Subscription Box (through Dermstore.com)

Well, it’s been a loooooong time since I’ve posted.  I got a full-time job a little over a year ago and my brutal work schedule didn’t leave me a lot of free time or energy for posting – or much of anything else.  A recent family emergency caused me to seriously re-assess my priorities and (long story short) I’m working less now, so I have more time for other things. Onto the review…

So, I’ve been dying to do a monthly subscription box for a while, but I wasn’t really very intrigued by any of them.  I mean, if I dedicated $10 or $20 a month to trying new beauty products, I’d rather just go buy things I know I might like, instead of relying on “luck of the draw”.  So far, my only foray into the subscription box arena was the Julep Maven box, which I didn’t love.  The BeautyFix box seemed like a better deal to me, since it contains some full-sized items.  The “previous months” offerings looked pretty good to me, too.  Seems that I might have missed out on some of the better selections…

Price:   The first box is discounted to $12.48.  The monthly subscription is $24.95.  You can also buy a one-time box for $34.95, if you like.

Pros: 

  • Contains some full-size products.  (Others are tiny samples and travel size.)
  • Good overall value.
  • Comes in nice packaging with a card that has information about the products.
  • Has a large variety of product types (hair, skin, makeup, body care).

Cons:

  • A little more expensive than some others.
  • Contains products you might never use – or want/need.
  • Have to call a hard-to-find customer service number to cancel.
  • Website is a little hard-to-find, too.
  • They advertise what’s coming in the box when they’re about to go out, so it’s not a surprise when it shows up.
September 2015 BeautyFix Box

September 2015 BeautyFix Box

October 2015 BeautyFix Box

October 2015 BeautyFix Box

 

Who This Would Be Great For: 

  • People who want to try new products and are open to pretty much anything.
  • Anyone who doesn’t have specific skincare/hair care/beauty needs.
  • Those who don’t like shopping around to try new things.

In Summary: The idea of this beauty box subscription is great – if you have very diverse tastes and skin/hair/beauty needs.  However, I have oily skin, so I can’t use any of the anti-aging products that have been included.  I have thick hair, so I really don’t need all the hair re-growth and “thickening” products that have come in the last 2 boxes.  You get the idea.  Additionally, I’m a little picky about the products I use (don’t use stuff made in China, anything with parabens, etc.) so some of the stuff that has come in the boxes aren’t things I would normally spend money on.  I knew this was going to be an issue for me, but I thought there would be enough products to offset the things I won’t use.  Yeah, not so much.

FYI:  After wandering Dermstore.com a bit, I found that many of the products in these boxes are on sale or clearance.  I think this beauty box subscription is their way of getting rid of products they overstocked or can’t sell.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  3.5-stars

Random Suggestion:  If you want to try some products and don’t want the commitment of a subscription, try BeautifiedYou.com  They have sample bags for $5 – $15 (free shipping is usually available for these items) and you can choose based on your skin type, or a variety of others that are sometimes available.  As of this post, there are 6 different bags available.  I ordered 3 different ones when I ordered mine several months ago and was very impressed by the products that were included.  And they even came with a cute, re-useable gift bag!

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a comment