Review: Smashbox High Definition Concealer

I’ve pretty much felt “meh” about most of the Smashbox stuff I’ve tried.  The things I have liked seemed too expensive for what it was, but I’m not anti-Smashbox by any means.  This particular product ended up getting purchased because I did the thing at Sephora where you book a “custom makeover” appointment.  My daughter was going to Prom and it seemed like a good way to get her makeup done.  Her makeup did turn out beautifully and this was one of the products her stylist suggested, so I spent almost half of the $50 gift card on it…

Pros: Oil-free. Paraben-free. Lightweight (good for under-eye area).

Cons:  Expensive.  Small container.  Not very thick.  Not waterproof or full-coverage like my favorite concealer.  Not available in a great selection of shades.  The contents of the one I bought were very “separated” and when I first tried to use it, I got a mix of watery residue and actual product.

In Summary:  This is a good concealer for “average” use, but isn’t a great choice if you have very dark spots or blemishes to hide.  It is good for brightening/toning down dark areas like under-eye circles, and it doesn’t look “cakey” when you use it.  Overall, it’s a good product.  But I still think it’s overpriced. I’d much rather buy Amazing Cosmetics concealer and thin it out with under-eye cream when I want to use it for my dark circles.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  3.5-stars

Price: $22 (USD) for .27 fl oz. tube

Available at:  Sephora, Ulta, Smashbox.com, beauty.com

Made in:  USA

smashbox high definition concealer

Leave a comment

Leave a comment