Review: L’Oreal EverCreme Cleansing Conditioner

(Yep, it’s another L’Oreal review.  Although their makeup doesn’t always impress me, I really like their hair care stuff.) 

“Cleansing conditioner” is a strange concept.  Although I love L’Oreal’s line of “Ever”(pure, crème, strong, sleek) sulfate-free products, I was hesitant to try this one.  Obviously there’s a market for it, since The Wen product advertised massively on TV and online is the same thing, and seems to be popular.  Truth be told, I’ve never been too intrigued.  I don’t even like the idea of 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner products because I think you should clean your hair before you put conditioner in it.  In reality, cleansing conditioner is just a sulfate-free product designed to gently clean your hair without being so harsh that it removes all the healthy oils.  It also has ingredients to smooth/condition your hair.  But honestly, I wouldn’t have tried it if I hadn’t been able to get it very inexpensively…

Pros:  Smells nice. Affordable.  Vegan.  Sulfate-free. Paraben-free. Contains botanical ingredients.   Makes hair softer and more manageable than shampoo alone. Great for normal, color-treated, and/or chemically-treated hair.

Cons:  Very thick.  Lack of foam can be hard to get used to.  If you use a lot of “product” in your hair, have oily hair, or regularly skip days of washing your hair, it may not cleanse well enough for you.

In Summary:  The “pump” dispenser on mine was broken, so I had a hard time getting it out of the container.  I actually might have to see if I have another pump I can use, because it’s VERY thick and the bottle isn’t made in a way that you can get it out easily any other way.  Once I managed to get enough to clean my hair, I had to remind myself not to expect too much foam.  After (insert number) years of expecting soap, shampoo, etc. to get all lathery, it’s very strange to use a product that doesn’t.  Distributing it through my thick hair was also a challenge.  After washing, I didn’t feel like my hair was clean, but it looked OK and felt really nice.  However, it wasn’t so thoroughly cleansed that I was going to skip washing the next day as I sometimes do.  Overall, I think this is a good product for occasional use, but I wouldn’t want to use it every day and definitely can’t use it after “skip” days of hair washing. However, cleansing conditioner seems to be a good option for people who want to improve the health/appearance of their hair.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars  4-stars

Related:  EverCreme Nourishing Shampoo Review   – EverCreme Intense Nourishing Conditioner Review

Price: approx. $7 (USD)

Available at: mass merchandisers, drug stores, Ulta, lorealparisusa.com 

Made in: USA

loreal evercreme cleansing conditioner

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

