Review: Make Up For Ever Aqua Seal

Desperate to find something to replace the long-discontinued and much-loved Benefit She-laq, I recently purchased this.  I needed a product to seal my eye brows, and haven’t had much luck with the Anastasia “Lash Genius” that was recommended by my local Sephora’s store associate. I wanted something liquid that could be applied with a small brush, because my brows are 75% drawn-on and a mascara-type brush just doesn’t work very well…

Pros: Alcohol, paraben, and sulfate-free.  “Eyedropper” type of bottle allows you to dispense a little bit at a time.  Doesn’t make eyebrows “crunchy”.  Keeps brows in place.  Can also be used to mix with eye shadows to create waterproof eye makeup.

Cons: Very expensive.  No brush included. 

Note:  I believe this product used to be called “Eye Seal”.

In Summary:  I still don’t like this product as much as I liked “She-laq”, which came in a pretty glass bottle with a brush attached to the lid.  The brush stayed in the container, so you didn’t have a crusty brush to clean afterwards.  Unfortunately, I’ve been unable to find a comparable brush. (I should have saved the bottle!!!)  Using the right brush makes all the difference.  If you use a brush that isn’t pliable enough or is too dense, you’ll end up wiping off your brow pencil.  I dried a “dabbing” type of motion with the brush I was using and ended up with a rather messy looking eyebrow.  (I had to fill it back in with my “cheat” – a brown eye shadow which matches my brow pencil.)  Even with all the negatives, this is working better for me than the Anastasia Lash Genius.  I will also be able to use it in the summer to make waterproof eye shadow, so that will be nice.  I still think it’s too expensive for what it is and will be trying some of the more budget-friendly options I’ve read about online.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  3.5-stars

Price: $21 (USD) for a tiny .40 fl. oz. bottle

Available at: Sephora

Made in:  France

MUFE aqua seal

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

