Thumbs-Down: Maybelline Color Show Nail Lacquer

I love nail polish.  OK, I hoard nail polish.  My collection verges on ridiculousness.  But it’s not all my fault.  My children are enablers.  They buy me nail polish for my birthday, Mother’s Day, and Christmas.  (Because they’re smart and they love me!)  I even feel a little bad about writing this post, because this nail polish happens to be one of the ones my daughter got me for my birthday.  But, I have to give an honest assessment – or I wouldn’t be able to claim to be “brutally honest”…

Pros:  Inexpensive.  Available at tons of stores.  Lots of color choices.

Cons:  Goes on unevenly.  Much more “sheer” than it looks in the bottle.  (Don’t let the fancy-sounding “lacquer” in the name trick you!)  Bad brush.  Bottle is significantly smaller than the average nail polish product.

In Summary:   Yet again, Maybelline disappoints me.  While they make a couple products I like (mascara), I generally think their stuff is cheaply-made.   Rimmel and Wet N Wild make nail polishes in the same price range that are far superior, and you get more for the money.

Rating:  1 out of 5 stars  1-star

Price:  approx. $4

Available at:  drugstores, mass merchandisers, Ulta

shown in Plum Paradise

shown in Plum Paradise

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. From one nail polish “hoarder” to another, I thank you! Nothing worse than spending $$ on a bad polish. I got one with a bad brush a couple weeks ago, company is normally good, just think it was a fluke. The brush was damaged, all spread out. I should have taken it back. I can’t use it. But I didn’t. 😦

    Reply
    • You could always clean off a brush from a nail polish that runs out or gets old. I think I might have to “rescue” some of my favorite brushes once it’s time to throw out the polish!

      Reply
  2. I definitely agree with the uneven thing! I recently bought a deep red and I wasn’t all that impressed with it, I had to take it off! Beth xox

    Reply
    • I just put another coat on and covered it with a glitter top coat . 🙂

      Reply
      • Haha, I was too impatient for that, so I just took it off and went for a blue and purple gradient instead! I might try it again next because it’s a nice Autumn colour! 🙂 xox

Leave a Reply

