Review: Korres Vitamin E Face Primer

I like the idea of face primer.  Ideally, it would allow me to use less foundation.  However, most of the ones I like cost as much as (or more than) my foundation, so that’s not a great selling point.  Smoother makeup application should be worth doubling the cost of my beauty regimen, but it’s not – not to me, anyway.  Since I want to use primer, and my supply of samples has run out, I got this primer at the recent Sephora clearance sale.  Worth a try, right?

Pros:  Lightweight.  Fresh, fruity fragrance. Doesn’t contain sulfates, synthetic fragrance, synthetic dyes, mineral oil, petrochemicals, phthalates, parabens, or GMOs.  99% natural.  Ecocert certified.

Cons: Contains glycerin, which seems to make my skin break out and/or clog my pores. (I scanned the ingredients, but somehow missed the glycerin.)  Only available at Sephora.  Expensive (unless you get it on sale, like I did).

In Summary:  I like the texture/”feel” of this primer.  It’s not as heavy on my skin as many other primers – even some of the oil-free ones.  I love that it’s mostly natural.  However, it’s not the best primer for my oily skin.  Korres also makes a “mattifying” primer, which I’ve used but didn’t like.  Until I get a good primer that’s designed for oily complexions, I’ll probably only use this on days when I’ve over-dried my skin with harsh facial cleansers or whatever.  So, if you have “normal” or dry skin, this might be a great product for you to use, especially if you prefer more natural products.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars  4-stars

Price:  $28 (listed as a “sale” price on the Korres site)

Available at:  Sephora

korres vitamin e primer

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

