Love This! Urban Decay Urban Defense (tinted moisturizer)

I got a sample of this product a loooong time ago and just recently had a reason to try it.  Reason:  I was out of other tinted moisturizers, too lazy to put on full makeup, but had an errand to run.  (No, I don’t leave my house without SOME makeup.)  After trying it, I decided to go online and see the price (bracing myself) and was happy (and sad – keep reading) to find it was 70% off the original price.  So I bought two.  One for my “year-round” color and one for my hopeful “maybe I’ll get some sun” color…

Pros:  Paraben-free.  SPF 20.  Fragrance-free.  Cruelty-free (PETA and Leaping Bunny approved – also helps contribute to PETA efforts.)  No glycerin. Has ingredients that fight free radicals (aging).  Light-diffusing ingredients give skin a healthy “glow” and minimize the appearance of flaws.  Light, smooth coverage.  Great for makeup “down days” when you want to improve your appearance without a huge time commitment.  If you want a little more coverage, you can put some powder on over it.

Cons:  Parent company – L’Oreal – isn’t cruelty-free.  Can’t tell if it’s oil-free.  (I’m not an ingredients expert, but there isn’t anything listed with “petroleum” or “oil” in the name…)  Only available in 4 shades. Color swatches on the container make it hard to tell the actual color.  Although I ordered 2 different ones,  the swatches are almost identical, although the colors aren’t.  Observe:

"Halo" on left, "Bodyguard" on right.

“Halo” on left, “Bodyguard” on right.

Note:  I’m pretty sure this has been discontinued, based on its lack of availability at Sephora and Ulta, as well as its very low price at UrbanDecay.com.  It got great reviews, but I’m guessing they’re phasing it out to market the “BB” and “CC” creams that seem to be so popular.

In Summary:  I really, really like this product.  It definitely solves a problem/need I have on a regular basis.  No, it’s not the only tinted moisturizer on the market, but I love that this one is paraben-free and cruelty-free.  I’m secretly hoping Urban Decay is just revamping the packaging (which they’ve done with lots of their products recently, including some of the ones they put on clearance) and the product will come back.  Not that I’m complaining about getting 70% off, mind you…

Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars  4.5-stars

Price:  $9 at UrbanDecay.com, $30 at Beauty.com, prices vary elsewhere

Note:  Urbandecay.com shipping is a little expensive (and slow!) at $8.

Available at: UrbanDecay.com, Beauty.com, some other online retailers

urban decay urban defense

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

