Review: Boscia Luminizing Black Mask

This is another of the products I received in my Total Beauty Collection “mystery box”.  I’ll admit, I normally wouldn’t be inclined to try a “peel off mask”.  It sounds messy.  But since I have it…

Pros:  Contains beneficial vitamins and herbal extracts. Preservative-free. (No parabens).  Sulfate-free.  Feels refreshing as soon as you put it on.

Cons:  Contains glycerin. (may clog pores, but since it’s a “peel off” product, that might not be an issue.)  Expensive.  Takes a lot of product to do the job right.  “Pasty” and a little difficult to deal with (hard to rinse excess off hands.)   Have to be careful with application.  Not as easy to remove as it sounds.  A little uncomfortable to remove (kind of like taking off a Band-Aid!)  If you have dry patches (or blemishes in the process of healing), the product will stick to those areas more and be harder/more uncomfortable to remove.

In Summary:  While it made my skin feel great, this product isn’t for me.  I was unable to complete the “peel” process in one step, leaving me with areas that were more “scrape off” than “peel off”.  (I can exfoliate my skin without the mess, thank you!) The resulting shreds of black, plastic-y stuff all over my counter (and clothes) was an undesirable side effect.  Worrying about leaving little dots of black gunk somewhere on my face I couldn’t see was annoying.    I guess this product is designed for people who are used to having a spa peel, but want to do it at home.  I’m not one of those people.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars  2.5-stars

Price:  $34 for 2.8 oz.

Available at:  Sephora, HSN.com, boscia.com

boscia luminizing black mask

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

