Review: Julep Nail Polish

My first Julep “Maven” box arrived with 2 nail colors.  I’m not in love with one (“Debra”), but am rather fond of the other (“Natalie”).  When I ordered, I didn’t realize there were box “options” and I could have picked something with different colors, but oh well.  I gave them both a try.  Here’s what I thought…

Pros:  I like the square bottle.  (It makes it easier to store.  I wish all bottles were square!)  Wonderfully opaque color.  Formaldehyde, formaldehyde resin, toluene, and DBP free.  Part of the proceeds go towards charities benefitting women.

Cons: Expensive.  Small bottle – about half the size of many “drugstore brands”.  Don’t love the brush – at ALL.  (Read about my all-time favorite nail polish brush here:  http://wp.me/p1Z8Rq-69)  Doesn’t coat as evenly as I’d like – probably because of the brush.  Not fast-dry. (I’m impatient!)

In Summary: I don’t know how they justify charging so much for these nail polishes, unless not putting all the harmful chemicals into them makes them WAY more expensive.  Maybe they give a lot of money to charity and inflate the price for that purpose.  Honestly, if they had a better brush, I would probably really like the products and be willing to pay for them.  As it is, I’ll be hoping next month has some better options.  I may try another online beauty subscription program instead.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars  2.5-stars

Price: $14 ($11.20 with “Maven” discount) for .27 fl. oz.

Available at: julep.com

On the left: "Natalie".  On the right: "Debra".

On the left: “Natalie”. On the right: “Debra”.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Wow, you only got 2?!
    Lame Julep.
    Seems like they’re getting full of themselves.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

