Review: Clear (for Men) Scalp Therapy Shampoo in “Clean & Refresh”

Recently, a local drugstore was doing a “buy one, get one free” deal on Clear brand shampoo and conditioner products.  Unfortunately, all the “girly” shampoos were sold out, so I had to buy one of the men’s ones.  Now, normally I don’t mind using products designed for men.  My favorite razor is a men’s razor, I like the way T-shirts from the “young men’s” department fit me, and men’s shave gel is sometimes cheaper, even though it works the same.  However, I’m going to have to draw the line at this product…

Pros:  Affordable. Paraben-free. Works as well as other shampoos.  Contains botanical extracts and pyrithione zinc – a proven anti-dandruff ingredient.

Cons:  Not the least expensive product you can buy. Contains sulfates.  Smells awful.  The fragrance is like cheap cologne mixed with something else (fruit? liquor?).  It’s really “distinct”, but not in the good way.

In Summary:   Lesson learned:  Smell the shampoo before you buy it.  To be honest, I’ve never used a shampoo that smelled so bad that I wanted to throw it away.  I can’t even stand the smell enough to keep using it so I can tell you how well it works! (I don’t even think I want the guys in my house to use it, for fear I’d have to keep smelling it on them!)  If you have no sense of smell and a dry scalp, this would be fine for you.  Otherwise, maybe you should just use Head & Shoulders – or try another fragrance. (It’s also available in “Strong & Full” – whatever that means – and “Cool Sport Mint”).

Rating: 2 out of 5 stars (mostly because of the fragrance)  2-stars

Price:  approx $7

Available at: drugstores, mass merchandisers, etc.

clear shampoo

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

