Review: Ulta Ultimate Pure Color Shampoo

I recently took my daughter to get her hair colored at Aveda Institute.  Since I had over 2 hours on my hands and there was an Ulta store nearby, I decided to go over and see if they had any sulfate-free shampoo to protect her new color (because I paid for it!).  I picked this one up because it had a Buy One, Get One Free offer…

Pros:  Sulfate-free.  Still lathers, which some sulfate-free products don’t, and which can be off-putting to some people.  Affordable.  Eligible for all Ulta coupons, which “prestige” brands are not.

Cons:  Odd, menthol/medicine-y fragrance.  Didn’t notice any extra moisturizing effect (but I only used it once – after all, it wasn’t for MY hair…)

In Summary:  If you’re looking for a sulfate-free shampoo, this is one of the least expensive ones you can find.  It seems to be on sale on a regular basis, too, (currently Buy Two, Get Two Free) which is a plus.  I don’t love the fragrance and I’m sure there are better shampoos out there, but if you’re on a budget and want to protect your color, this is probably an excellent choice.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  3.5-stars

Price:  $6.99 for 9.25 oz

Available at: Ulta

IMG_1439

This is a bad photo of the product. The one on Ulta’s website is of the conditioner, for some reason…

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

