Thumbs-Down: L’Oreal Telescopic Explosion Mascara (Waterproof)

I stopped buying L’Oreal mascaras years ago, because I had 2 different ones that irritated my eyes. I don’t have particularly sensitive eyes, but mascara seems to be the one thing that causes me issues. (Only the aforementioned L’Oreal products and one by Buxom.) Despite my history, I bought this mascara. I was intrigued by the unique brush, and you know the rest: I had a coupon AND it was on clearance.  Plus, I needed a waterproof mascara…

Pros: It seems to have been discontinued, so you don’t have to worry about accidentally buying it.  Made in USA.  “Suitable for sensitive eyes and contact lens wearers”, according to the manufacturer. Inexpensive.  Stays on pretty well.

Cons:  Contains parabens.  The wand part is horrible.  They were going for a “telescopic” look, so they didn’t pay attention to the fact that it’s too flexible to do its job properly.  The round brush is just weird.  It’s only convenient for outer eyelashes and pretty difficult to use on the rest – unless you like poking yourself in the eye. Mascara is just run-of-the-mill stuff, nothing special.

In Summary:  I’m not surprised this product has been discontinued.  If you happen to see it in a discount store and are tempted to buy it – don’t.  Seriously, save your money or spend it on a bottle of nail polish or something.  If you’re looking for a budget-friendly waterproof mascara, try Maybelline’s Colossal Volum’Express.

Rating: 1.5 out of 5 stars  1.5-stars

Price: approx $9 (originally)

Available at:  buy.com, maybe some discount stores and clearance aisles

l'oreal telescopic explosion mascara

 

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

