Review: Rimmel Glam’Eyes HD Eye Shadow

On a recent trip to CVS, I had a coupon for a Rimmel product, and this one happened to be on sale.  Since I haven’t tried Rimmel eye shadows but have been happy with their other products, I thought I’d give it a try…

Pros: Good variety of colors available.  Applicator isn’t as cheaply-made as some others in this price range.  Shadows go on smoothly.  Nice shimmer without too much “sparkle”.  Good coverage.  Lasts longer than some other inexpensive shadows.

Cons: Made in China.  Ingredients not listed on packaging (not even under a label – and I couldn’t find them anywhere online, either. Not cool, Rimmel.).  Ridiculous packaging.  Some of the shadows are so small they’re almost impossible to use.

In Summary:  I would love this eye shadow if not for all of the “cons” listed above.  I can deal with the tiny eye shadow portions, but not being able to find out what ingredients are in the product is pretty much a deal-breaker for me.  “Made in China” is also usually on my “do not buy” list, but I forgot to check this particular item before I bought it.  (Glad I only spent $1.50…)  So, if you aren’t as picky as me, these would probably be good eye shadows for you!  If you want something that’s the same quality but without all the “cons”, try Almay’s Intense i-Color shadows, available in a variety of colors and sheens. (Read my review of them here.)

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars (only because of the unavailable ingredients list and made-in-China thing!)  2.5-stars

Note: I think this particular version of the Glam’Eyes eye shadows is being discontinued in favor of a some with more practical packaging.

Price:  approx $5.50

Available at: Drug stores, mass merchandisers, Ulta

rimmel glam eyes

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

