Nail Polish Organization Idea

I’m always looking for new and inventive ways to organize my stuff.  Yes, I know Pinterest has TONS of suggestions.  To be honest, I have a hard enough time keeping up with 2 teenagers, 3 Facebook pages, 2 Twitter accounts, and 4 e-mail addresses to spend a lot of time on Pinterest (yes, I do have an account…).  So, I have to get my inspiration from the random Facebook postings of my friends…

Background:  Here’s how MY nail polish is “organized.”  This plastic bin weighs 11.4 pounds (approx. 5 kg).  It’s a replacement bin, because the last one couldn’t handle the weight and cracked.  It lives in my closet.  Sadly, this bin doesn’t even hold all my nail polish.  I have more in the downstairs bathroom.  I’m even a little embarrassed to post this photo.  I’m normally a very organized person and like to have a place for everything.  All my OTHER beauty products have a good home…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Alternative:  This is a beautifully embellished spice rack.  Yes, really.  A spice rack.  My friend picked it up at a resale shop and made it look pretty.  It’s perfect for holding nail polish.  If you wanted to, you could even mount it to the back side of a closet door for convenient out-of-the-way storage.  (note: If your doors are hollow, you’ll need some sort of anchor.)  You could also hang it with over-the-door hooks.

photo courtesy of Ella Cordial

photo courtesy of Ella Cordial

Now…   I just have to find a bunch of spice racks. (I’m OCD, so they’re going to HAVE to match!).  Between my nail polish collection and my daughter’s, I find myself wondering if spice racks are sold in bulk multi-packs…

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

