Review: Batiste Dry Shampoo with a Hint of Colour (Dark/Deep Brown)

I’m a regular dry shampoo user.  (See my review of other dry shampoos here.)  It’s not that I’m too lazy to wash my hair (OK, sometimes I am. Hey, I’ve got a lot of hair!)  I just think sometimes your hair needs a break and dry shampoo is a good way to make your hair look clean without stripping its healthy oils away.  Since I have moderately dark hair, I’ve been hoping to find a dry shampoo with some “tint” to it, so it’s easier to blend into my hair.    I know there are several products out there designed for dark hair, but I haven’t been willing to pay for them.  I found this one at a discount store, so I wanted to give it a try…

Pros: Paraben-free.  Small container fits into a medicine cabinet better than some of the other huge dry shampoo bottles.  Smells really nice.  Feels less “chalky” than others.

Cons:  Expensive.  The “hint of colour” is a dark grey they add to the dry shampoo.  (Why not brown?)  You probably wouldn’t want to use this on light (or highlighted) hair. You have to shake the bottle a lot to get the tint to distribute properly.  When I first tried it, I didn’t see any color at all.

In Summary:  This dry shampoo is better than most of the ones I’ve tried because of the fragrance and texture. However, it is significantly more expensive.  I will probably use it for the times I’m in a hurry and need dry shampoo (When I’ve overslept or lost track of time – it happens!) because it blends in faster than the regular stuff and doesn’t run the risk of making my brunette hair look like it’s going grey.

Note: Batiste makes many varieties of dry shampoo.  If you like dry shampoo but are looking for something different (like “shimmer”!), you should check out their selections. Unfortunately, the Batiste line of “coloured” dry shampoos  got discontinued before I got a chance to try it. 😦

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars  4-stars

Price:  approx $9 for 6.73 fl. oz

Available at:  drugstore.com, Ulta.com (other varieties), folica.com, other online retailers

batiste dry shampoo dark

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

