Q & A: Drugstore Beauty Products

I saw this post on Sicilianna Beauty and decided to share my thoughts on these questions with you. I’m a big fan of several “drugstore brand” products, but some are just plain disappointing. Here’s a quick rundown…

1. What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand? Rimmel

2. What are your favorite cheek and lip products? Revlon makes great lip glosses (haven’t tried one I didn’t like). I haven’t found a drugstore brand blush that I like yet.

3. Least favorite product? Maybelline eye shadows. I’ve tried a few different varieties and they were all horrible.

4. What is the best makeup bargain? Wet N Wild nail polish. The brushes are amazing and it lasts as long as more expensive brands.

5. What’s your favorite underdog product (something that often gets looked over)? Cover Girl Brow & Eye Makers pencils. There are sooooo many (expensive!) brow-specialty products and kits out there, but I get good results with these.

6. A drugstore product that is overpriced is? I think most foundations are too expensive for what they are. Some of them aren’t much less expensive than “prestige” brands.

7. Your best drugstore dupes! I haven’t put enough thought into finding cheaper versions of expensive products, I guess. Sorry!

8. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype? Any foundation product that promises to “match” your skin tone. My experience with these products has taught me that they’re just a base (lotion-type stuff) with some color beads. As you move it around on your skin, it gets darker. I don’t see how it could magically match your skin tone perfectly, and haven’t found one that has.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I really dislike foundation. It never matches and just looks horrible. I’ve given up on it. But we love the wet n wild nail polish!

    Reply
  2. I adore the Revlon lip probucts as well. Can’t live without the lip butters anymore 😉
    Here i did the tag too, it was quite fun.
    http://luchessa.wordpress.com/2012/12/08/%E2%9D%84-i-%E2%99%A5-drugstore-makeup-tag-%E2%9D%84/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

