“No Name” Products

Like many people, I have favorite brands of beauty products.  I can’t say that I have one brand that I love so much I’d buy anything they make.  (I don’t think I have more than 2 items by a single brand in my collection of beauty products!)  Some fancy brands are worth the price, while others aren’t. Every now and then, I’ll try a “no name” brand (not the same as “drug store” brands like Revlon, Maybelline, etc.) just to give it a shot.  I usually find these products at discount stores.  Sometimes, I even like them more than the stuff that costs twice as much…

OK, So The Packaging Might Not Be Great:   Sometimes these products have really boring packaging.  Other times, they’re trying SO hard to make the packaging look nice that it looks odd (or just plain tacky).

Limited Availability:  Since items bought at discount stores are usually there as a result of some sort of “closeout”, store going out of business, etc., you may never see that item again.  Keep this in mind when you buy the no-name product.  Even if you love it, you may not be able to buy it later.

Examples:  There are certain things I just don’t want to spend a lot of money on.  The main 2 things that come to mind are cleansing wipes and makeup sponges (“Cosmetic Wedges”).  These items are disposable and it seems silly to me to pay a lot for them.  Here are some budget-friendly options I’ve found:

Facial Cleansing Wipes (pkg of 25) by Bellecare Switzerland

Paraben and sulfate free.  Contains Aloe & Vitamin B5.  Made in Italy.

purchased at Ross for $2.99

 

Cosmetic Wedges by Designer Perfect (pkg of 32)

Latex Free.  Work great.  Made in USA.

purchased at Big Lots for $1.50

In Summary:  If you like to shop anywhere you can get a good deal, you might be able to find products you need that will help you save some money.  You just can’t have it in your head that name brands are the only way to go…

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

