Review: Ulta brand Beauty Wedges

I use beauty wedges (or “makeup sponges”, as I call them) every time I apply liquid foundation.  They allow for better coverage in those definitely-needs-more-coverage areas.  I’ve tried many brands of “makeup sponges”.  My opinion of them has ranged from “meh” to “horrible!”  (Despite my love of Target, I pretty much hate their Up & Up brand makeup sponges. Read review here: http://wp.me/p1Z8Rq-54)  Here’s my opinion of these…

Pros: Latex-free.  Hypoallergenic.  Made in USA.  Very affordable.  Washable.  (allegedly – I haven’t tried it)  Not so “sponge-y” that it soaks up all your foundation and/or makes “texture” marks where you try to use it.

Cons:  Bigger than the normal cosmetic wedge, which makes it a little harder to use in some areas.

In Summary:  I’m actually impressed with these wedges. (To be honest, I wasn’t expecting much – I was out of makeup sponges and needed some ASAP on a day I happened to be at Ulta.)  They  are pretty much the best ones I’ve ever tried.  I’ve found similar-quality ones, but they were at bargain stores and I couldn’t find them later when I wanted more.  I don’t like how big they are, because it makes them harder to use and it seems kind of wasteful, but the texture is very nice for the kind of foundation I use.

Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars 

Price:  $1.99 for 8, $2.99 for 32, $6.99 for 96

Available at: Ulta

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

