Review: Anastasia Beverly Hills Lash Genius

I’ve been using Benefit’s (discontinued) She-Laq to seal my mostly-drawn-on eyebrows for quite a while now.  However, She-Laq is no longer available for purchase, so I’ve been forced to find a new product (boo!).  I went to Sephora to see what was available and I only had two options.  1:  Makeup Forever “Aqua Seal” (a liquid product in little bottle with a “dropper”) and 2:  Anastasia’s “Lash Genius”, which is actually a waterproof topcoat for mascara.  They cost exactly the same, so my usual “buy the less expensive item” option was invalidated.  The Sephora representative recommended the Anastasia product, so that’s what I got…

Pros:  Paraben and fragrance-free. Hypoallergenic.  Opthalmologist and dermatologist tested.  Cruelty-free (PETA). Does a decent job of waterproofing.

Cons:  The mascara wand is a little hard to use on your brows.  (I guess if I had thick, natural brows it would be fine.)  Brush smears brow pencil if you use a “sweeping” motion.  I had to kind of “dab” it onto my brows, and then I ended up with globs of it in some areas.

In Summary:  I’m going to be very sad when my bottle of She-Laq is gone.  (I’m already sad that I can’t buy it anymore!)  It was easier to use and worked better than this stuff (and cost less!)   I think the Makeup Forever product would have been a better choice for me, because I’m used to a liquid product I can gently brush onto my eyebrows to keep them in place.  I could have poured it into the She-Laq bottle and used the same brush.  Since I spent $21 on this (had a $10 gift card, but still…) I’m going to have to find a way to make it work.  I think I’m going to start by finding a brush that will fit into the mascara tube…

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars    (based on use for eyebrows only, may work better for mascara)

Price:  $21

Available at:  Sephora, Ultabeauty.com, anastasia.net

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

