Thumbs-Down: Finesse “Moisturizing” Shampoo

I’ve noticed that a lot of the products I used to consider “cheap” have been re-formulated to become better-quality products.  So, I decided to give Finesse shampoo a chance.  (Also, I had a coupon that made it almost free…)  After all, I’m not a snob when it comes to my hair/skin/beauty products, and I’m certainly not brand-loyal.  Maybe it’s time to be a little more snobby…

Pros:  Inexpensive.  Cleans hair very well. Paraben-free.

Cons:  Contains sulfates.  Strips hair in a pretty harsh way, and the effect gets worse as you use it more.

In Summary:  I have pretty healthy hair, but after using this shampoo, it looked pretty dry and frizzy.  The bottle says “Self Adjusting” (whatever that means) “for Consistently Beautiful Hair”.  Um, no. Also says “Moisturizes for softness and manageability”.  Again – no.  And “for dry or damaged hair.”  Oh, I get it – you mean to GET dry/damaged hair, you should use this product.  Oh, OK.  It’s not often that I just throw a product away.  I usually try to find some use for it or just use it a little at a time until it’s gone.  This one is going down the drain.  I wouldn’t even use it on a cat.  And I’m a dog person.

Rating:  1 out of 5 stars 

Price:  approx.  $4 (about $3 too much, if you ask me)

Available at: mass merchandisers, drug stores

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

