Dryness – Enemy of Oil Control

If you struggle with acne and oily skin (or hyper-oily skin, like me), you may be doing everything you can to “control” the oil.  Unfortunately, you can be doing more harm than good if all you’re doing is focusing on ways of drying up that oil…

Truth:  Overly-dry skin will often try to compensate by producing more oil.  Yeah, it’s annoying.

Solution:  Moisturize your skin, but be reasonable.  Find a good oil-free moisturizer.  Avoid products with petroleum, glycerine, and other pore-cloggers.

Suggestions:  Use your salicylic acid cleansing wash, acne treatment, or whatever your dermatologist has given you, but find a way to work moisturizer into your routine.

Example:  My dermatologist had given me a .025% strength retinol cream.  It wasn’t working as well as I’d like, so he prescribed a .05% version (double strength!).  The stronger one is a little harsh, so I’ve worked out an evening routine (to follow my salicylic acid wash) that’s helping my acne without leaving me looking like I’m molting:  Day 1 & 2:  .025% cream.   Day 3:  Oil-free moisturizer.  Day 4:  .05% cream.  Day 5:  Oil-free moisturizer.  (Repeat.)  This seems to be working out for me so far.  I also work an “exfoliation” in when my skin starts getting really flaky, which is a side effect of the retinol cream.

Recommended Products:

Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer ($14)

(packaging varies, and it comes in SPF 15 or 30)

Boscia Oil-Free Daily Hydration SPF 15 ($36)

Love this, but not the price

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

