Review: Carmex Everyday Lip Conditioner

I almost never leave home without some sort of lip balm.  When I do, I usually end up buying some while I’m out, because I can’t stand having dry lips.  The other day, I was sans lip balm, so I stopped into CVS to buy one.  I have a handful of lip balms I like (Burt’s Bees, Jack Black, old-fashioned Carmex) but I was feeling experimental (and kinda cheap), so I got this one, which the packaging describes as “creamy, fast absorbing, non-greasy”.  Sounds great…

Pros:  Inexpensive.  Paraben free.  Nice citrus scent/flavor.  Cooling sensation (which I don’t really care about, but I guess it might feel “relieving” if your lips were sore…)

Cons:  Not very moisturizing. (Kind of watery feeling)  Contains saccharin.  (Weird)

In Summary:  Not impressed.  I guess since I have this, I might use it, but since I have a ridiculously large supply of lip balms, I don’t think I’ll ever need it.  It’s definitely not going to be an “everyday” use product.  It just doesn’t feel as moisturizing as even regular Carmex.  I applied more, trying to get the level of moisturization I was hoping for, but then my lips were all white and disgusting-looking.  So, I definitely don’t recommend this product and won’t be buying it again.  The worst part:  Later in the day, I found my lip balm hidden in a pocket in my purse.  Argh.

Rating:  2 out of 5 stars 

Price:  approx. $2

Available at:  drug stores, mass merchandisers

 

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I’m picky on my lip balms but have a million of them b/c I get so many at race expos or race packets. However, this actually works out b/c the kids are always stealing them and I leave the “freebies” out so they grab those. 🙂

    I’m totally hooked on the Mission AthleteCare lip balms. Love those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

