Review: Bare Minerals Foundation

I have less-than-great (OK, kind-of-horrible) skin.  I keep trying to find ways to be nicer to it, including using more natural products. I got a free sample of Bare Minerals foundation and have purchased some for use on my less-makeup days…

Info:  It comes in two varieties:  “Original” and “Matte”.  “Original” is pretty shiny-looking.  It kind of looks like it contains the same stuff they put in bronzers.  It’s that kind of look, anyway – not oily, just shiny.  The “matte” is definitely that. I actually have one of each and combine them for the look I want. (Not too shiny, not too powdery.)  There’s also a new foundation called “Ready Foundation” that comes in a compact, but I don’t know anything about it.

Pros:  Natural ingredients.  Paraben-free.  Doesn’t feel heavy.  Easy to remove.  Looks natural.  SPF 15.  Comes in lots of shades.

Cons:  Expensive.  Can be messy if you’re not careful.  Not much coverage. (read how to get better coverage without buying tons of products here.)  If you apply too much, it will settle into wrinkles and make you look older.  Comes off easily.  The container “traps” some of the product, because of its swivel dispenser cap thing.  I wanted to get all of the product out, so I used a pliers to pry off the cap thing, so I could get the rest out.

In Summary:  This is a good product.  It’s not good for everyday use for me, because sometimes I just need a LOT of coverage.  However, it is good to do the faux-naturale look that I sometimes try to get away with.  (A quick trip to Walmart isn’t worth the effort of putting on all my makeup.)

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:   $27  for full-size “original or “matte”

Various “kits” available, starting at $20

Savings Tip:  The only way to get this product at a discount is to sign up for Ulta’s club, and/or the beauty.com’ and bareescentuals.com e-mail list.  Once or twice a year, Ulta sends out 20% off total purchase coupons you can use on anything in the store.  Beauty.com sometimes (rarely) has similar promotions.  BareMinerals sometimes has “free gift with purchase” deals online and in stores.

Available at:  Ulta, Sephora, department stores, bareescentuals.com,  beauty.com, Bare Minerals stores

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

