Thumbs-Down: Pantene “Frizzy to Smooth” Shampoo & Conditioner

I’m always looking for frizz-reducing products, because my hair is naturally wavy, which quickly develops into a ball of frizz when it’s humid (which is about 90% of the time in South Texas).  Since I’ve liked Pantene products in the past, I thought I’d give this one a try…

Pros:  Paraben-free.  Affordable. Helps control frizz.

Cons:  Contains sulfates (2 types, shampoo only).  Doesn’t rinse out well.  Leaves hair looking greasy.

Note:  When I bought this product, it was called “Frizzy to Smooth”.  The Pantene website no longer lists this variety among their dizzying array of product offerings, but there is still the “smooth” line of products.  I don’t know if it’s the same or not.

In Summary:  This shampoo/conditioner DOES help reduce frizz – because it makes your hair look like you haven’t washed it in 3 days!!!  I had to use dry shampoo the first time and thought maybe I just didn’t rinse it enough.  The next time, I made sure I rinsed the conditioner from my hair thoroughly, but I got the same result.  I also tried using only the conditioner (with another shampoo) and still got the greasy look.  (Maybe if you have super-dry hair, this is a great product???) I ended up doing a double washing to get rid of the nasty been-stranded-in-the-wilderness look and switched to another product.  It takes a lot for me to actually throw away anything I might be able to use.  I threw these away.

Rating:  1 out of 5 stars 

Price:  approx $6 each, for “normal”  size

Available at:  drug stores, mass merchandisers

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

