Review: Benefit “They’re Real” Mascara

My very generous friend Amanda/Too Tall Fritz gave me her “travel” size version of this mascara that came with the set she bought.  I had been wanting to try this product, but didn’t want to spend $23 on it, especially since I already have like 5 different mascaras!  Here’s what I thought…

Pros:  Paraben-free.  Not clumpy.  Spiky plastic brush allows for separating and coating of lashes.  Covers lashes well. Lengthens.  Deeply-pigmented.  Right now, a “value set” is available, which contains the full-size mascara and a travel-size one (for the same price as the full-size alone).  Doesn’t smear/smudge when you’re putting it on.

Cons:  Contains sulfates.  Ingredients list not shown at any of the online retailers of this product (even the Benefit website says “check packaging” – thanks, that’s helpful!)  Not waterproof (and not available in a waterproof formula, if you need that).  Expensive.

In Summary:  I really like this mascara – and I’m glad I got to try it – but I don’t love it so much more than my current mascara that I’m willing to pay almost double what I’m spending now.  It’s more of a “separate and lengthen” mascara, and I prefer a “make my lashes look fuller” mascara.  This is just personal preference, though, and I think this mascara would be great for people with short and/or thin lashes.  I will be using this as a “base coat” (time to throw out some of my other ones, anyway!) to separate/lengthen and follow up with my “thickening” mascara.  Thanks again, Amanda!!!

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars 

Price:  $23  ($10 for “travel size”)

Available at:  Sephora, Ulta, Benefit Cosmetics, some department stores 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I really like this stuff. I have whimpy lashes so this helps me a ton! I at least look like I have eye lashes when I wear this. 🙂

    Reply
    • It’s so nice to find products that work, huh?

      Reply
      • Absolutely. I’ve bought so many mascara’s over the years and this is the best (for me) by far. The price doesn’t bother me because I only use one mascara and I don’t have cost wrapped up in other make up. I only really do mosturizer/skin health items, then eye liner & mascara. I will use eye shadow on occassion. I know nothing about make-up which is why I read EVERY word you write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

