Review: Sephora Collection Moonshadow Baked Palette (“In the Heat”)

I received a gift I didn’t love/need, so I took it to Sephora to exchange it for something more practical.  OK, so an eye shadow set may not be the most practical thing I could have gotten, considering I already have tons of eye shadows, but the item I had planned to get was out of stock.  Not wanting to leave the store empty-handed, I got this eye palette instead…

Pros: Contains no parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, synthetic dyes, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs, or triclosan.   Has a large mirror.  Eye shadows don’t “crease” easily.  Not made in China, like most “budget” palettes.  Good colors.

Cons:  No applicators included, so not-so-convenient for travel.  Colors are pretty sheer (not as “vibrant” as they look).  Doesn’t stay in place very well when used dry.  Eye colors aren’t very smooth.  Looks a little “heavy” when used wet.  One of the colors isn’t secured very well in the palette, so it wiggles around when I use it.  (cheaply made, I guess)

Note:  The “baked” palette also comes in other color combinations:  “In the Dark” and “In the Nude”.  I chose “In the Heat” because it had some colors of eye shadow that I don’t have but wanted.  (although I think the other two have really nice colors and prettier packaging!)  I tried to put the colors on my arm so I could show you what they looked like, but my photography skills (and my camera) suck.  Now I have a sparkly arm.

In Summary:  This is my second foray into the world of “baked” eye shadow.  What I’ve figured out (I think) is that baked eye shadow only looks great if you use it wet.  The “dry” option results in sheer eye shadow without much color.  This product is the first one I’ve tried to use wet, and I thought it looked pretty bad.  I was imagining a painted-on, smooth look.  I got a “my age +10 years” look.  It made my eyelids look heavy and wrinkly.  It was fine on the upper part of my eye, so maybe the trick is to only use it on the smoother part of your eyelid.  Maybe I chose the wrong color to experiment with.  Maybe it works best with lid primer or some specialized brush.  I don’t know, but I’m not loving this kit.  (And I really, really want to!)  I don’t hate it enough to return it, but I probably won’t use it much, either.   😦

Rating:  2.5 out of 5 stars   

Price:  $21

Available at: Sephora (in stores and online)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

