Comparison Review: Eye Makeup Remover Wipes

I’ve tried a handful of eye makeup remover wipes.  I don’t want to say I’m lazy, but… OK, I’m lazy.  I have a bottle of liquid eye makeup remover and “cotton rounds” to use to apply it, but I usually end up using the wipes anyway.  My evening skin care ritual is lengthy enough without adding another step.  Here’s a quick rundown of the eye makeup removing wipes I’ve tried…

Almay Oil-Free Eye Makeup Remover Pads

Pros:  Oil, paraben and fragrance free.  Made in USA.  Dermatologist and ophthalmologist tested.

Cons:  Contains sulfates.  Although it’s fragrance free, it has a strong (and rather unpleasant, in my opinion) scent.  Pads are very thin and small.

Note:  My review is based on the travel-sized package.  It’s possible the regular ones are larger.  There are 3 formulas of this product:  “Oil-free” (the one I’m reviewing), “Moisturizing” (which doesn’t contain sulfates, but does contain parabens) and “Hypo-Allergenic” (contains sulfates but no parabens). Kind of odd they have a “hypo-allergenic” formula when this one is labeled as being hypo-allergenic…

Rating:  2.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  $7.99 for 120

Available at:  mass merchandisers, drug stores, drugstore.com

Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Eye Makeup Remover Pads

Pros: Paraben and sulfate-free.  99% natural ingredients.  OK for sensitive skin.  Hypoallergenic.  Compostable cloth.  Cruelty-free (PETA logo).

Cons: Rather strong cucumber fragrance.  The pads are pretty small and very thin, which makes them a little harder to use than other products.  Also, they’re all stuck together, so you have to peel them apart (or you might accidentally use more than one, not realizing it.)

Note: This is a new product I ordered from the website.  As far as I know, it’s not available anywhere else yet.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars (only because of the natural ingredients and eco-friendliness of materials used, not because of its performance) 

Price: $6.99 for 45

Available at: yestocarrots.com, may be sold at some drug stores and mass merchandisers soon

Visine Total Eye Soothing Wipes

Pros:   Sulfate and paraben-free.  Large, thick pads.

Cons:  A little expensive, considering they’re only for your eyes.  (I get away with cutting them in half and using one side of the half for each eye.)

Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars 

Price: approx $6 for a container of 30

Available at: drugstores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com

In Summary

 The most cost-effective ones are the Almay brand.  However, if you’re willing to cut them in half, you can get the Visine wipes (by far my favorite) for a little bit more money.  OK, so they’re not made of natural ingredients and compostable cloth like the Yes to Cucumbers ones, but I don’t compost – and they’re the most expensive option, anyway (unless you count the Visine wipes when not cut in half!)  I think they’re all decent products, but if I could only buy one, I’d get the Visine brand, because its thickness makes it easier to use.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

