Review: Almay Intense i-color Eye Shadow (“smoky-i for greens”)

I’ve been wanting to get some of these eye shadows for a while.  I’m not sure why, except that I like several of the color combinations.  I don’t even have green eyes, but I figured I could get away with it, since my (brown) eyes have flecks of green (and gold) in them.  A few varieties of the “intense i-color” eye shadow kits were on clearance at Target.  I had coupons that made this cost about $2 AND they came with a small package of eye makeup remover wipes.  You KNOW I couldn’t resist a deal like that…

Pros:  Hypoallergenic.  Paraben-free.  Shimmery but not sparkly.  Goes on smoothly.  Color on skin matches color in container.  Inexpensive.

Cons:  Got a little “crease-y” halfway through the day.  (I probably should have used lid primer!) The eyeshadow applicators are junky, like most that come with non-prestige brands.

Note:  The Intense i-color eye shadows come in 3 varieties:  Shimmer, Smoky, and Satin.  Choose wisely.

In Summary:  This is pretty good eye shadow.  It’s not my favorite, but it’s better than many I’ve tried. (Yes, I’m talking to you, Cover Girl!)  I’d like to try the “satin” and “shimmer” varieties to compare.  Maybe next time I’ll get the one that “matches” my actual eye color…

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars   

Price:  approx $6

Available at: mass merchandisers, drug stores,  drugstore.com 

Note: Set with eye makeup remover wipes is only available at Target.

 

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love these “palette’s” I have the green eyes and the brown eyes.

    Reply
  2. Stacy

     /  September 10, 2012

    I have the 2 I’ve found for blue eyes. I like them. I’m just not creative enough to think on the color palettes In my own, so I like that they’re already coordinated for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

