Review: John Frieda Smooth Start Conditioner (“Repairing”)

Despite all my attempts to care for my hair, I still have to deal with a moderate amount of frizziness.  (I blame South Texas humidity.)  So, I’m a sucker for anything that promises to help with this particular issue.  Here’s my review of this particular one…

 Pros:  Paraben-free.  Inexpensive.  “Clings” to hair (you can still feel it on your hair even after rinsing).  Slight improvement in frizziness.

Cons:   Very strongly fragranced. I don’t think it did much “repairing”.

In Summary:  Overall, this is a good conditioner. I think the “Repairing” in the formula name is a bit much to say you’re doing for someone’s hair. It is – after all – just a rinse-out conditioner. Real repair usually comes from leave-in treatments.  It would probably work well on hair that’s only moderately frizzy.  If you can stand the smell and get it with a coupon or something, it’s worth a try.  It’s one of a handful of conditioners I’d use regularly, but I’d still need other products (serum, argan oil, etc) to control the frizz.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars 

 

Price:  Approximately $6 for 10 fl. oz.

Available at:  drugstores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com, Ulta

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

