Thumbs-Down: Sephora (brand) Waterproof Eyeliner

I love the idea of waterproof products.  However, sometimes they don’t live up to their labels and/or they’re disappointing in some other way. I think this eyeliner was developed in a time machine by ancient Egyptians, because it would be perfect for a “Cleopatra” look, and not much else…

Pros:  Paraben-free.  Inexpensive.  Deeply-pigmented.  Waterproof.  Comes with a “smudge tip” applicator/tool.

Cons:  SO greasy.  Doesn’t hold up to sharpening.

In Summary:  The problem with this product is that it’s basically a grease pencil. When it’s new, it has all the pointy-ness of a 2-month old Sharpie.  It looks like a normal eyeliner you’d sharpen with a sharpener, but it just breaks every time you try.  Once you put it on, you’d better like it, because trying to get it off results in smudges of black greasy stuff everywhere.  (Yes, I know I should expect this from anything waterproof…)  I ended up using an eye makeup remover wipe to get a “clean slate” and had to re-apply foundation around my eye.  From now on, I’m going to just use regular eyeliner (or – in my case – eyeshadow) and seal it.

Rating:  2 out of 5 stars 

Price:  $9

Available at:  Sephora

 

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Ive been thinking about trying this eyeliner out. Thanks for the review! Just so you don’t have to waist it, have you tried keeping it in the refrigerator or freezer before you sharpen or use it? I’ve had to do this with an eyeliner before, and even though I won’t be repurchasing it, it really helped me get more use out of it.

    Reply
    • That’s a great idea! I’ve pretty much stopped using pencil eyeliner, because I’ve never really ”gotten the hang of it”. I just use black eyeshadow and an angled eyeliner brush.

      Reply
  2. I didn’t like this much, either!

    Reply
    • Glad it wasn’t just me. Sometimes I think I must be too critical when I read reviews on Sephora’s site about how people loved something. (And I secretly wonder if they don’t feel obligated to be nice because it’s Sephora’s site???)

      Reply
      • I secretly think it’s employees posting reviews, haha. A lot of the Sephora brand makeup is, for lack of a better word, crap. Although, I do like some of their lipglosses.

Leave a Reply

