Trying to Embrace a Trend

I would never describe myself as “trendy”.  It often takes me quite a while to warm up to new fashion trends.  (When capris made their re-debut into the fashion world, I thought they looked stupid and I wouldn’t wear them.  I’ve just recently gotten used to the boots-over-jeans look.)  It’s the same with nail polish trends.  While I love dramatic looks on other people, I just don’t think it’s appropriate for someone like me (over-30, unemployed, overweight PTO /football/band Mom).  But, my 15-year old daughter is very brave with her nail choices, making intricate patterns and using lots of color.  So, I decided to take a cue from her bold nail looks and try something new…

The Accent Nail:  I still don’t know how I feel about this look.  The idea is to have one nail that’s a different color from the rest.  Unfortunately, my OCD tendencies work their way into my fashion/beauty choices.  I’m trying to get used to the idea that things don’t have to match, they just have to go.   So, I decided to bridge the gap by doing an accent nail and matching nail tips.  Here’s how it turned out:

Nail Colors Used: Sonia Kashuk in “Smoke and Mirrors” and Revlon Top Speed in “Typhoon” (discontinued).

 

 

OK, Not Exactly Perfect:   I definitely need to work on my technique.  (In my defense, one of these nails got messed up when I went to show my daughter and she decided to “look” by touching my nail.)  I think the tip needs more silver, too, but I need to figure out how to do that without making it look all crazy and uneven.  Also, I’m not sure I like the accent nail being on my index finger.  Maybe the ring finger would look better because it would be surrounded by the “coordinated” nails???  Dunno.

Trying:  I’m still trying to get used to it.  My daughter likes it. My husband doesn’t get it, even thought I explained the “accent nail” concept.  He gave me a “Um, OK, if you say so” kind of look.  Maybe he thinks I’m too old for the trend, too…

 

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I love this trend! I have all pink nails with a silver accent finger on right now 🙂 The WordPress Only Beauty Blogger Hop Blog List is up! Be sure to check out all of the blogs ☺
    http://sparklegirlslife.wordpress.com/2012/08/14/wordpress-only-beauty-blogger-hop-blog-list/

    Reply
  2. I think it looks awesome on you 🙂 I’m in the same boat with slow adaptation (or outright rejection!) of ‘trends’ – I do like the accent nail and nail art though, just more colour is a good thing. I’m well over 30 too, age is a state of mind 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

