Review: StriVectin-SD Instant Retexturizing Scrub

Well, Ulta might not give out free birthday gifts, but I’m always excited to get my “rewards certificates”.  Today (my birthday), I got to use my most recent one.  Somehow, I managed to get all the way up to Level 5 this time around, which allowed me to get this product for free.  (Apologies to the woman who came into the store after me with her Level 5 certificate – I took the last one of these!)  I’ve been looking for a new face scrub, anyway, since the two I love have been discontinued…

Pros:  Paraben-free. Non-comedogenic.  Very “scrubby”, unlike many facial scrubs.  The container has a safety seal.  I know this is a silly thing to list as a “pro”, but I appreciate buying a product and knowing someone didn’t use it as a “tester” in the store.

Cons:  Fairly expensive.  Kind of “thick”, so you have to add the perfect amount of water to be able to get it to move around your face.  The box leads you to believe this product is bigger than it actually is.   I don’t care for the fragrance.  (It doesn’t have “fragrance” listed in the ingredients, but it has some essential oils that combine to make a fragrance I don’t care for.)  Can be a little difficult to get all the exfoliating beads off your face.  Minimize this by using it in the shower or repeatedly re-wetting your hands as you scrub to “dilute” the product.

In Summary:  This scrub works pretty well. If I had to buy a facial scrub and didn’t mind the price, I might get this one (or search around online for my discontinued favorites!)  If you just need to exfoliate your face, though, and aren’t looking for any bonus “anti-aging” ingredients, (or you want to save some money) you could get the same effect with some inexpensive loofah discs.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars 

Price: $29 for 3.3 fl. oz.

Available at:  Ulta, Sephora, beauty.com, strivectin.com, various other retailers

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

