Review: Neutrogena Shine-Control Makeup (Foundation)

Desperate to find a foundation that doesn’t “separate” when my skin gets oily, doesn’t contain parabens, and doesn’t look/feel like it was made of a base of vegetable oil, I picked up this one at a recent trip to a local drug store.  I had been debating trying it for a while and the clever people in charge of the CVS Beauty Care Club sent me a $5 off coupon.  Then they put this product on sale.  And I had a manufacturer’s coupon, so I was able to get it for about $1.  Yeah, kind of hard to say no, right?  By the way, when did foundation stop being called foundation?  Now it’s just called “makeup”.  Isn’t everything I put on my face to try to look pretty called makeup?!?!  I digress.  Back to my review…

Pros: Paraben-free.  SPF-20.  Relatively inexpensive.  Since it’s a “drug store brand”, you can use coupons and promotions to get it more inexpensively.

Cons:   Gritty.  I have to admit, I wasn’t expecting this.  I’m not sure if it’s an “oil control” ingredient, but it’s kind of odd.  Seriously, it’s rougher than some “exfoliating” products I’ve bought.  Only comes in 8 shades.  The one I chose was too dark, but I think the next shade “down” would have been too light.

In Summary:  This foundation does help control shine somewhat, and it feels less heavy than some of its competitors.  It doesn’t separate as skin gets oily the way many foundations do, which is a big bonus.  It’s definitely better than any of the “drug store” brands I’ve tried.  I think Clinique’s Stay Matte Makeup (read review here:  http://wp.me/p1Z8Rq-ox) works a little better, but probably not it’s probably not “better” enough to pay twice as much for it.

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx $12

Available at:  mass merchandisers, drug stores, drugstore.com, Ulta

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

