Reveiw: Skin Effects Brightening Gentle Foaming Cleanser

I recently made a trip to CVS (drug store) where I somehow managed to get away with a bottle of nail polish remover, a bottle of nail polish, a travel-sized Nexxus hair spray, 4 candy bars, a pack of bobby pins, a pack of gum, and a face cleanser  – all for 64 cents.  (disclaimer:  I had “CVS Rewards” money, and several coupons).  I had a coupon for “any face cleanser”, but I had a hard time finding one that wasn’t expensive and/or didn’t contain parabens.  This is the one I ended up with…

Pros:  Paraben, fragrance and detergent/sulfate-free.  Does a good job at removing mineral makeup.  Doesn’t smell too bad, considering it’s unscented.  Left skin feeling pretty clean.

Cons:  .  Doesn’t do a good job of removing liquid foundation.  My skin felt like it had been cleaned, but using a wipe afterwards proved that it wasn’t.  Left my skin feeling pretty dried out.

In Summary:  I’m glad I got this on sale.  This is one of those products that’s trying to look like a more expensive one.  Don’t let the packaging trick you into thinking it’s something it’s not.   It’s basically store-brand cleanser in a pretty bottle.  For the same amount of money, you can buy a dozen different products that work better.  If I hadn’t gotten it so inexpensively, I’d be pretty mad about wasting my money on it.  But I’m still wishing I had used those coupons for something else…

Rating:  1.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx $7

Available at:  CVS drug stores, cvs.com

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Marie

     /  December 7, 2012

    Hi Bridgett!!

    This may be a far shot but would you happen to still have that skin effects facial cleanser? CVS discontinued it and I’m liking everywhere for it, if you still have it, I’d be willing to buy from you!

    -Marie N.

    Reply
    • Actually, my daughter ended up using it. That’s one good thing about having a teenaged daughter – sometimes the stuff I don’t like is perfect for her! Hope you’re able to find it somewhere. If you can’t, I’d recommend trying Simple brand cleansers. They’re pretty good, and cost about the same (not a “foaming”/pump type, though…)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

