Thumbs-Down: Revlon Photo Ready Pressed Powder

I wear translucent pressed powder almost all the time – even when I wear mineral makeup.  I’m in love with Too Faced Absolutely Invisible pressed powder, but have been looking for a more budget-friendly alternative, so I tried this one out at one point.  Here’s what I thought…

Pros:  Paraben-free.  Made in USA (but of “U.S. and non-U.S. components”).  Inexpensive.  (You can use coupons to buy it – I guess that’s a “pro”.)  Goes on pretty well, if you use a decent brush.

Cons:  Sparkly.  Very sparkly.  Cheaply-made brush.  I don’t know why it’s white, even though it’s “translucent’.  Nobody has white skin – why not make it at least off-white?  If you accidentally put too much on, it looks white-ish.

In Summary:  I’ve been pretty satisfied with Revlon’s Photo Ready Foundation (although it’s not working as well since my skin went into oil-producing overdrive), but this stuff is just disappointing.  I guess if you were going out to a club, it might be OK.  It’s a bit much for everyday use.

Rating:  1.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx $12

Available at:  drug stores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

