Nail Polish Colors I’m Crushing On

My nails are always painted.  ALWAYS.    Toes, too.  When I had extensive foot surgery, they removed the polish from one of my toes to put a monitor on it.  My first act upon returning home was to ask my husband to re-paint that toenail for me.  The fact is, after 15+ years of always having my nails painted, they don’t look so great “au naturale”.  I’m not very disciplined about using base coat.  I keep my fingernails long and I’m clumsy, so sometimes they crack too far down to trim, so I have to superglue them.  Right now, I have one that I bent back a couple times, so it looks REALLY bad.  (It’s almost completely detached.)  Still, my hands/nails are one of my best features (as long as they’re “done”!), so I’m not ready to give up the nail polish.  Here are the colors I’m currently in love with…

OPI in “Steady as She Rose”

I got this on clearance at Ulta.  I’m not quite ready to jump onto the “nude” bandwagon, so this is as close as I’m going to get.  It’s a beige-y pinkish color that I love.  Also, it’s very forgiving, because the light color makes those inevitable “wear” marks harder to notice.  I’m currently wearing this on my fingers, but I did it rather hastily and haven’t had time to fix my errors, so you’re going to have to live with this photo of the bottle.

Wet n Wild Megalast in “Bite the Bullet”

I got this for 99 cents with a drug store promotion.  I love the brush but I’m in love with the color.  It’s subtly feminine but not too “girly”.  This is the color I’m wearing on my toes right now.  No, you’re not getting a photo of them, either.  (My feet are looking a little neglected right now.)

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in “Purple Posy”

I don’t think this formula is as great as the name (and price tag) indicate, but I love the color.  I really like any bright pink or purple shades.

Sephora by OPI in “Metro Chic”

This is one of the items on my Sephora “wish list”.  (My wonderful son was kind enough to buy it for me.)  It was my first foray into anything-but-purple-or-pink in a long time.  I’m glad I was able to take the leap, because it’s a great color.  I’m not sure how to describe it (purple-ish brown?) but it’s a great color.

In Summary:  As I’ve gotten older, I find that I’m less “experimental” with my nail colors.  That’s not to say that I don’t have tons of nail polish.  I do.  (I think I have more nail polishes than I do pairs of shoes, and that’s saying a lot…)  I used to wear all kinds of crazy colors (well, mostly blue…) and I admit, I’m still tempted to get bold from time to time.  But most of the “bold” colors have been given to my daughter for her frequent nail art ventures.  I’m going to stick with colors that don’t make me look ridiculous.  Unless there’s some sort of school “spirit” event I get to attend for my kids.  Then, I will be back to the crazy colors and nail art.  🙂

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Love painted nails! I buy nail polish “just because” but pretty much stick with the OPI now because it lasts longer and well, time is an issue. I’m normally pretty boring but have experimented a bit with the OPI Shatter line. We probably have 90% of the shatter colors but I only will use a few. My absolute favorite OPI products is a discontinued clear top coat that adds miniscule gold glitter flakes to my manicure. Pure awesome but my bottle is almost empty.

    Reply
    • Have you seen the new magnetic nail polish? You put it on, and then use the lid to make “wave” patterns with the magnet. It’s pretty cool. You should look online for the discontinued OPI. And buy all of it. 🙂

      Reply
      • Haven’t seen the magnetic stuff. That does sound awesome! I looked at the bottle of discontinued OPI this morn to try to “remember” the name and I’ve lost it already. I look again.

Leave a Reply

