Review: Revlon Photo Ready Foundation

I’ve been trying to find a liquid foundation I love (that doesn’t cost a fortune) since my favorite got discontinued.  I’ve been using this foundation, because it’s better than several others I’ve tried.  The new Clinique Stay Matte foundation is great, but it’s expensive (especially since my frequently-changing skin tone requires me to buy 2 colors to mix as needed).  I stopped into The Body Shop today because they were having a buy one, get one free sale.  Unfortunately, their oil-free foundation contains parabens.  The only foundation they have without parabens has olive oil (and another I can’t pronounce/spell correctly), so those aren’t good options for me.  OK, enough of my foundation-quest-drama.  Here’s the review…

Pros:  Paraben free.  Inexpensive.  Available everywhere.  Comes in a good selection of colors. SPF 20.  Oil-free.  Fragrance free.  Made in USA.  Good coverage.

Cons:  Doesn’t go on so smoothly.  “Breaks up” as the day goes on and your skin produces oil.  (If you have dry skin, it’s probably fine.)

In Summary:  I’m definitely “settling” for this foundation. Overall, it’s not a bad foundation, but it’s not nearly as good as the Revlon one that got discontinued.  (Boo, Revlon!)  I’ve been able to improve the “break up” issue somewhat by using Urban Decay De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray, but now that I think about it – why shouldn’t I just pay more for the foundation, instead of paying for an extra product to make cheap foundation work better?  And so my quest continues…

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx. $12

Available at:  mass merchandisers, drug stores, Ulta, drugstore.com

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

