Review: Maybelline “The Colossal” Volum’Express Mascara (Waterproof)

I’ve been in serious need of a new waterproof mascara.  The one I’ve been using is not-so-great AND it’s old.  I picked this one up very inexpensively, so I figured it was worth a try – even though I’ve been disappointed by Maybelline mascara in the past. (“Last Stiletto” is one of my least favorite mascaras of all time.)  Here’s my review:

Pros:  Coats lashes well.  Very waterproof.  Inexpensive.  Didn’t irritate my eyes the way some mascaras have in the past.

Cons:  Contains parabens.  Lots of parabens.  (I forgot to read the ingredients list before I bought it…)  Doesn’t do much to “lengthen” or “volumize” lashes.

In Summary:  This is actually a good, solid mascara.  It’s great as a “base coat” if you’re trying to save money and usually use a more expensive brand for second and third coats.  It’s also good for everyday use when you don’t need the ultra-glamorous look.  I would keep buying it – if it didn’t contain parabens!  Maybe someday they’ll re-formulate it.  Until then, I’m probably going to keep using it, since I only wear waterproof mascara a few times a month, anyway.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars (would be 4.5 if it didn’t have parabens)  

Price:  approx.  $7

Available at:  drug stores, mass merchandisers, Ulta

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

