Beauty Tip: Getting More Coverage Out of Mineral Foundation

I love mineral foundation – in theory.  I like that it’s better for my skin and doesn’t feel all heavy on my face.  However, I don’t like that it doesn’t give me as much coverage as I’d like (OK, nothing does that – except Photoshop, but still…)  Here are a few things I’ve figured out to make mineral (powder) foundation work a little better, without buying a whole “system” of products…

Upgrade Your Brush:   The best coverage comes from dense brushes.  Find a brush that has bristles that don’t flop around when you push them against your skin.

Moisturize:  Applying a layer of moisturizer (or primer, if you have one you love) and letting it sit for 5 – 10 minutes will help your mineral foundation “stick” better.

Distribute:  To get the foundation to distribute evenly into/onto my brush, I use the following technique:  Pour a generous amount of the foundation into the lid.  Dip the brush into the foundation.  While holding the brush over the lid, tap around the outside of the brush’s bristles, going all the way around.  (This distributes the foundation into the bristles evenly.)  Swirl foundation onto face.  Use a tapping motion to “dab” the foundation over areas that need more coverage.

Concealer:  Apply concealer after foundation.  The swirling motion will probably wipe it off if you put it on before foundation.  Make sure the color is very close to your skin/foundation color, though.

Finish:  To get even more coverage (hey, I need it!), you can apply a translucent pressed powder.  I like Too Faced “Absolutely Invisible“, but there are tons of good ones out there.  If you’ve applied concealer, be sure to use a powder puff over those areas instead of a brush, which will disturb the concealer.

In Summary:  I’d love to always look like I’ve been Photoshopped, but that’s not possible.  So, these are just a few tricks I’ve learned to try to look better-than-natural.  If you know of any others, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

