Review: Peter Thomas Roth Anti-Aging Cleansing Gel

I got a sample of this with my last Sephora order.   I’m not really in the market for a new cleanser, but it was a more practical choice than some of the other samples, so here’s my review…

Pros:  Contains glycolic and salicylic acids (anti-aging and anti-acne ingredients).  Nice fragrance.  Cleanses well.

Cons:  Contains parabens.  Not good for sensitive skin.  Expensive.  Stupidly priced.  (3.3 oz is $10 and 8 oz is $35, meaning it’s cheaper to buy 3 of the 3.3 oz. bottles AND you get more product that way.  Yeah, that’s dumb.  I’m apparently not the only one who’s figured that out, because the 3.3 oz size is out of stock at Sephora.com – which also seems to be the only place selling that size.)

In Summary:  I like this cleanser because it smells nice (even though it has added fragrances) and it’s not a “foaming” cleanser.  The paraben ingredient is kind of a deal-breaker for me, so even if I liked this more than my current cleanser, I wouldn’t switch.  If you have oily, “mature” skin and don’t care about parabens, it might be a good option for you.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  $10 for 3.3 oz, $35 for 8 oz., $78 for 32 oz.

Available at:  Sephora, beauty.com, Ulta, other online retailers

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

