Review: Clinique Stay-Matte Oil Free Makeup (Foundation)

For decades, I’ve resisted the urge to try high-end foundation.  I don’t want to get “addicted” to yet another expensive product.   (Plus, my skin tone changes throughout the year, so I’d have to buy 2 – a light and a dark shade – to use it effectively.)  However, my last Sephora.com order gave me the opportunity to “sample” this foundation.  And I wish I had ordered a different sample instead…

Pros:  Oil-free.  Fragrance-free.  Allergy tested.  (I always wonder how that works – do they put it on a person who has tons of allergies?!?!?) Matte appearance without looking un-natural.  Seems to control oil (somewhat).  Comes in a decent amount of shades.  Good coverage.

Cons:  Kind of smells bad. (a side effect of being “fragrance-free”, I suppose)  Has a really long list of ingredients, some of which are off-putting.  (Nylon -12, Nylon-6, what the…?)  Expensive.

Note:  This foundation doesn’t have any built-in SPF.  This could be good if you have a problem with sunscreen, or (like me) get enough SPF from your moisturizer and don’t want your face to be 5 shades lighter than the rest of you.

In Summary:  I pretty much love this foundation, even though it doesn’t smell great.  Unlike my usual liquid foundation, after several hours of wearing this one, my skin did NOT look like an oil slick.  Nice!  Unfortunately, I don’t think I’m going to be getting any coupons for this foundation, unlike the one I usually get – which I’m able to use store AND manufacturer’s coupons to buy.  And it’s new, so there’s no risk of it being discontinued very soon.  (I signed up for their e-mails.  Maybe they’ll send me a gift certificate???)  I will probably buy it, as soon as I can figure out a way get it without completely ruining my beauty budget…

Rating:  4.5 out of 5 stars  (If it weren’t so expensive, it would get 5!) 

Price:  $23

Available at: Sephora department store beauty counters

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

