Thumbs-Down: L’Oreal Studio Secrets “The One Sweep” Sculpting Blush Duo

I did it again.  I bought a L’Oreal “Studio Secrets” product because I had a coupon and it was on clearance (making it really, really inexpensive).  The last time I bought a product from this line, it was the “Professional” eye shadow quad.  (Read “thumbs-down” review here: http://wp.me/p1Z8Rq-9M)  That product was so disappointing and still I didn’t learn my lesson.   (I think I was drawn to these items because I love the H.I.P. line of cosmetics that L’Oreal makes SO much.) What can I say?  My short-term memory sucks.  Besides, I had some blush I needed to replace…

Pros:  The colors are nice. Made in USA.  The container has a good design.

Cons:  If not on sale, it’s kind of expensive.  The brush is a cool shape/concept, but it’s cheaply made.  Contains parabens AND the only way you can find this out is by removing the sticker on the bottom of the packaging to reveal the ingredients list.  Not cool!  Rather low quality makeup.  Color not very intense.

In Summary:  I’ve learned my lesson.  No more “Studio Secrets” makeup for me.  (I would be happy for it to have stayed a secret!) They’re just cheaply-made products in pretty packaging.  They’re not the worst cosmetics on the market, and they work a little better if you use a high quality brush, but they’re still unimpressive overall (and you can’t do the “one sweep” thing the product is advertising with any other brush).  Unfortunately, I’ve thrown away one of the blushes that this would have replaced.  Argh.

Rating:  2 out of 5 stars: 

Price:  Approx. $12.  Yes, TWELVE.  Completely over-priced.

Available at:  drug stores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

