Review: Korres Pomegranate Mattifying Primer

This is probably something I would never think about buying (not just because of the price) but when I saw the sample as an option with my Sephora order, I was excited to try it.  Consider me de-excited…

Pros:  Contains no parabens, sulfates, synthetic dyes, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs or triclosan.  94% natural.  Smells OK.  Water-based.  Tinted.

Cons:  Felt like it was suffocating my skin.  (You know that feeling when you’re just starting to get sick and you feel a little sweaty?  Kinda like that.)  Didn’t do a great job of mattifying beyond initial application.  Expensive.

In Summary:  I really didn’t like the “sweaty” feeling this gave my skin.  It’s possible that it’s a weird reaction with my skincare products (although unlikely, since I tried it twice – with different products – and got the same result.) but I’m not sure if maybe that’s just how it’s supposed to work.  At any rate, it wasn’t too impressive in the “mattifying” and “pore-minimizing” categories, so I’m not going to be buying it.

Rating:  2.5 out of 5 stars 

Price:  $33 for 1.01 oz.

Available at: Sephora, korresusa.com

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. budziak

     /  June 15, 2012

    That’s surprising for such a pricey and reputable brand like Korres but definitely good to know.

    Reply
    • I’m not saying it’s a bad product, but I have very oily skin and was hoping for more ” mattifying”. I’m sure it’s fine for normal skin. I guess my search for oil-controlling primer will continue.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

