Thumbs-Down: Skintimate Moisturizing Cream Shave (“Dry Skin”)

I generally use men’s shave gel.   It works great and I don’t need pink packaging and floral fragrances to remind myself I’m a girl.  Sometimes I buy women’s shave gel (when it’s on sale and/or I have a coupon), but I buy the men’s stuff about 9 out of 10 times.  I recently decided it might be a good idea to try something different, because I had a coupon (shocking, I know!) and the product I wanted was out of stock.  Since this one cost the same (only $1 after my coupon), I decided to pick it up instead of going to the store another day.  Maybe I should have just left the coupon for someone else…

Pros:  Contains olive butter and soy.  Dye-free.  Slightly more moisturizing than some shave gels.

Cons:  It takes more to do the job (compared to shave gel) which makes it more expensive.  I didn’t like the fragrance.  It doesn’t work better than shave gel.  Contains parabens – rather high in the ingredients list.  It’s harder to rinse off your bathtub/shower than shave gel.  (Yeah, I’m messy…)  The cap – which has a considerable amount of plastic because of its design – is (apparently) not recyclable.

In Summary:  I will never buy this product again.  I’m not sure why anyone would buy it, unless the store is out of every brand of shave gel ever made, or they have some aversion to metal containers.  Unrelated criticism:  The flower-shaped base of the lid is just plain ridiculous.  I guess it’s worth the $1 I paid, but I’ll still be looking forward to running out of it, so I can go back to the not-girly stuff…

Rating:  1.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx. $3.50

Available at: drugstores, mass merchandisers, drugstore.com

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

