Review: Sephora Prisma Chrome Eye Shadow

It’s already been established that I can’t resist a good deal.  I was ordering some stuff (gifts for my daughter) from Sephora last week and saw this product on sale.  I needed more (new) purple shades of eye shadow, and $5 is a good price, so I added it to my cart.  OK – I admit it – I was trying to spend exaclty $25 so I could get a free gift.  I probably should have found something else to spend that $5 on…

Pros:  Paraben-free.  Made in Italy. (not China, like lots of Sephora brand eye shadows.)  Nicely shimmery.  Not heavy.

Cons:  Expensive, if not on sale.  (All colors weren’t on sale, but the one I wanted was.)  Performance is pretty far from the product description.  Color isn’t deeply-pigmented.  Goes on rather sheer.  Container is hard to open, especially if you have long-ish fingernails.

In Summary:  It got some rave reviews on sephora.com.   Maybe I’m doing something wrong or the product is just old.  I used my best eye shadow brush and didn’t get great coverage.  (I’m also willing to accept that I’m just plain picky.)  I definitely didn’t notice any magical-sounding “prismatic” effect, unless you count the normal shimmer you get with many eye shadows.  It has a nice finish and you can layer it to get the color you want.  It’s not a total waste of $5, but there’s no way I’d pay $15 for it.

Rating:  3 out of 5 stars  

Price:  $15, except for the colors that are on sale for $5

Available at:  Sephora, sephora.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

