Review: Philosophy The Supernatural “Windows to the Soul” Eye Shadow Palette

I think this product may have been discontinued.  When researching, I only found it at a few places online.  Since I got it at Big Lots for $3, I’m guessing it’s been off the mainstream market for a while now.  At any rate, I got it in “Plum Delicious”, but it’s available in two other color combinations as well.  Here’s what I thought…

Pros:  Doesn’t contain parabens, phthalates, mineral oil, sulfates, propylene glycol, or PEGs.  Made in USA.  Comes with a two-sided brush and mirror.  Very portable. Liner color can be used wet or dry.  Finely-milled, so you can layer the eye shadow quite a bit to get a more intense color.  Slightly sparkly, but not so much that it makes it look like you’ve done your makeup to be on a Mardi Gras float.

Cons:  Expensive (unless you can get the deal I did!)  These are mineral colors, so they’re not deeply-pigmented – they’re fairly sheer.   The liner side of the brush isn’t so great for liner, unless you’re doing “smoky eye”.  It’s basically just a smaller eye shadow brush, not a straight or angled liner brush.

In Summary:  I love the palette. I mean the actual palette – it’s so slim and pretty and convenient! The eye shadows aren’t as colorful as I was expecting, but after a bit of layering, I got them to look like the color I saw when I opened the kit.  If you can find this for $3, it’s an amazing deal.  If you pay $20 or more, it’s not.

Rating:  3.5 out of 5 stars  

Price:  $22 – $30

Available at:  amazon.com (third-party resellers, price varies), beautybar.com ($30)

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

