Thumbs-Down: Origins Zero Oil Instant Matte Finish

Since the battle with my oily skin is on the “epic” scale, I’m always on the lookout for weapons to wage my war.  When I ordered the Origins Zero Oil cleanser (which I love), I saw this product.  I was tempted to order it because it was on sale, but didn’t – because I’m commitment-phobic (not sure it will work/be worth the money I spent).  And I’m cheap.  So I went to my local Origins store to get a free sample…

Pros:  Doesn’t contain parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances or dyes, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs, or triclosan.  Can be used under or over makeup.  No discernible fragrance.

Cons:  Expensive.  Have to shake it before using (because it separates).  If you forget, you’ve wasted whatever you dispensed and messed up the balance of ingredients. It’s very liquid-y, making it harder to use than some products and not convenient for on-the-go use.  Dries skin.

In Summary:  This product works OK, but it’s far from impressive.  If you use it post-foundation but are using a mineral foundation, it will get messed up.  You’d might as well use oil-absorbing sheets and re-apply your foundation.  It also made my skin feel kind of dry and itchy after using it.  (Not allergic-reaction itchy, just slightly-annoying itchy.)  I can think of several products that work as well or better than this one that are more convenient and/or less expensive.

Note:  Apparently, Origins used to make a product called “Matte Scientist” which has been discontinued.  This one seems to be the one they’re marketing to replace it.  Several online reviews I’ve read said the Matte Scientist was a much better product.  I guess I’m not the only one who was unimpressed…

Rating:  1.5 out of 5 stars 

Price:  $13.50 for a tiny .64 oz. bottle

Available at:  Sephora, Origins, origins.com, beauty.com

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

