Review: L’Oreal Magic Lumi Primer

I’m not a fan of face primers.  I like the idea of improving the application of my foundation, but not the extra step (and purchase) or worrying about it making my skin oilier.  But, I got a free sample of this one, so here’s my review…

Pros:  Gives skin a healthy shimmer/glow (but isn’t sparkly).  Less expensive than some primers.    Not as oily as some.  Available almost everywhere.

Cons:  Contains parabens.  Probably not ideal for hyper-oily skin (contains glycerin).  A little on the expensive side for a “drugstore brand”.  (It’s not much cheaper than Smashbox – at $16 for .5 oz. – which doesn’t contain parabens and is oil-free.)

In Summary:  I like the “illuminating” effect of this primer, although my instant reaction to anything-but-matte skin is “I look oily”, because it’s hard to tell a difference between shine from “healthy glow” and shine from “oily”.   The glow-y effect worked even through mineral foundation, but I don’t know how well it would work with a liquid or anything with more coverage.  This product would be perfect if you already had a tan and just wanted to add a healthy glow to bare skin.  It could also work well as a “highlighter”.  So, if you’re looking for a luminizing primer and don’t care about parabens or oil, this could be a good option.

Rating:  4 out of 5 stars  

Price:  approx. $12 for .68 fl. oz.

Available at:  mass merchandisers, drugstores, drugstore.com

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I also received a sample of this and still haven’t used it. I’m interested in giving it a try now lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

