Favorite Face Cleansers for Oily Skin

I’ve tried a lot of face cleansers.  I have hyper-oily skin and regularly wear semi-waterproof makeup, so I need something that will really clean my skin.   I hate it when the description says “For healthy looking skin”.  I don’t want healthy LOOKING skin.  I want HEALTHY skin.   There are a lot of good cleansers out there.  Here’s a quick list of the ones I like…

The Body Shop Tea Tree Skin Clearing Face Wash. 

Available at Body Shop stores.  Approx. $11.

Philosophy Purity Made Simple.

Available at Sephora, Ulta, beauty.com, philosophy.com.  Many sizes available.

Standard size is approx $32.

note: contains parabens

Origins Zero Oil Deep Pore Cleanser. 

Available at Sephora and Origins stores, as well as beauty.com.  Approx. $18.

Simple Refreshing Facial Wash Gel. 

Available at drugstores and mass merchandisers.  Approx. $7.

BeautiControl Spa Facial Purifying Cleansing Gel. 

Available from BeautiControl representatives.  Approx $24.

In Summary:  My main criteria for selecting these cleansers is how well they work.  There are some other things about some of them that I don’t like (parabens, price, fragrance) but they work well.  The way I judge a cleanser is by using it when I’m wearing my makeup.  If a lot of “color” comes off when I go to rinse my hands, I know it’s working.  Sometimes, I test them by using a face cleansing wipe after washing.  If there’s still makeup on my face, I know it didn’t do its job.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

